Preaching #57

In both congregations in which I was a pastor my “contract” stated that in addition to holidays, I was allowed several Sundays (at least 4) to preach in other congregations.

The church, therefore budgeted to pay a “pulpit supply” for those days on which they were yet, really paying for me.

Perhaps they needed a break.

I can accept that.

I get bored with me.

Pretty quick.

One congregation I think felt a bit of kudos that “their pastor” got invited elsewhere.

One congregation saw it as sharing their resources.

I think that in addition the leadership in the latter congregation understood that it was also good for us (there were several ministers) and them, for to us preach elsewhere – we brought back a richer experience.

The flip side, other people got a chance to preach although to be sure I did not get to hear them…oh yes cassette tape” ministry did exist in the old days.

I wonder to what extent this preaching elsewhere is contracted and or encouraged?

Leave a comment