Preaching #56

Preaching may be many things:

Art and Craft

Gift and Calling

Responsibility and Job

It is certainly a skill and skill needs practice.

We all appreciate a good sermon better than a poor one. We prefer an experienced hairdresser and dentist to a trainee! Yet, those learning to preach need opportunities to preach. They need people on whom to try out their sermons.

By the time I went to my first church in Scotland, I had preached often. This was the result of a system of students being available, invited, and sent to Churches for pulpit supply.

You did not say no when you got the invitation (instruction with a phone number) from upstairs in Aytoun Road at the Scottish Baptist College. Instead of you went – train, bus, borrowed car.

In my years of studying at the Scottish Baptist College I preached in Churches all over Scotland: Bellshill, Dundee, Oban, Dennisoun, indeed as far as Fraserburgh (stunning hospitality and home baking in Fraserburgh), to name but a few.

There were repeated sermons (7 times I think with one sermon on John 1 – Jesus the Lamb of God) a few mishaps (called into Principals office on the Monday for a reprimand), a few very long Sunday afternoons in a persons home from the church waiting patiently for the Sunday evening service to come round, inadequate expenses to cover travel…

but overall an opportunity for gaining experience among congregations who welcomed you for what you were – a student learning your skill.

I appreciate all those who let me try out my stuff on them.

Leave a comment