Preaching #59

You may have noticed that I once had a sermon about Jesus the lamb of God. It travelled well…most of the time.

On one occasion I was preaching in Oban Baptist Church. This involved an early morning journey from Glasgow to Oban through some beautiful, quiet (at that time on a Sunday morning) country roads. It was a stunning morning, the sun was shining and I was pushing it in a borrowed red Vauxhall Viva car.

Up ahead on the country roads I saw a sheep and a lamb. It was that time of year and unfenced roads.

Aw the nice.

Then the sheep crossed the road leaving the lamb behind at my side of the road.

Aw not so nice. I began to apply the brakes, the lamb decided to join its maw, crossed in front of me…kaboom.

Stopped the car, got out to check that it was in fact dead – which it was, and fortunately had ended up back off the road. Climbed in car a bit shaken and sad, poor wee thing.

Drove rest of the journey to find a police station, you had to report if you hit live stock. Most country police stations closed. Got to Oban, into police station. “I am here to report that I killed a lamb on the road up from Glasgow.” Wry response from young female police officer: “I presume you mean that you hit it with your car, not that you beat it to death with a stick!” Ho ho.

Off to Church, yes sermon that day…”Behold the Lamb of God…” Susanne in congregation could not look at me.

Leave a comment